Division of Biostatistics and Quantitative Methods (dBMQ)

Statistics serving practice

A subtle balance 

The main task of the Division of biostatistics and quantitative methods is to understand,  command, develop, apply and teach statistical methods, and to study the best ways of processing data, from both a mathematical and practical point of view.

The statistical methods studied by the dBMQ allow to extract from these data the information  to increase knowledge in the field of life sciences, and in particular to better understand the biological processes affecting health.

The challenge for the Division of biostatistics and quantitative methods (dBMQ) was, is and will always be to keep the right balance between a “theoretical/specialist” approach and a “practical/generalist” approach to statistics.

The first one is a necessity if the division is to remain scientifically credible when contributing to the development of statistical sciences.

The second one allows for a direct usefulness to IUMSP and CHUV professionals.

This dual approach to statistics proves fruitful, practice being based on theory, and theory being motivated by practice. A comprehensive approach of statistics thus allows for more creativity when tackling their specialities.

Research work

The division of biostatistics and quantitative methods (dBMQ) regularly contributes to interdisciplinary research involve g original statistical aspects, involving other IUMSP, CHUV and UNIL units in particular, as well as the Swiss Institute for Bioinformatics (SIB).

It also supports the statistics consultation organised by the Clinical Epidemiology Centre (CEPIC).

The dBMQ's statistical research currently covers the following themes:

·         Genetic statistics

·         Development of statistical indicators and reference curves

·         Longitudinal data analysis

·         Robust statistics

Academic structure of the dBMQ

Head of Department: 
Dr Valentin Rousson, PhD, Associate professor

Academia:
Dr Zoltan Kutalik, PhD, Assistant professor
Dr Isabella Locatelli PhD, MER

The dBMQ team 

 

 

 

Secretariat: 
Areas of activity: 
                         

IUMSP | www.iumsp.ch
Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine
Route de la Corniche 10, 1010 Lausanne - Switzerland
+41 21 314 72 72 | iumsp@chuv.ch

Go to top

Division de biostatistique et méthodes quantitatives (dBMQ)

La statistique au service de la pratique
Un équilibre subtil 

La mission de la Division de biostatistique et méthodes quantitative est, d'une part, de comprendre, maîtriser, développer, appliquer et enseigner les méthodes statistiques et, d'autre part, d' étudier les façons optimales de traiter des données, à la fois d’un point de vue mathématique et d’un point de vue pratique.
Les méthodes statistiques étudiées par la dBMQ permettent d’extraire de ces données l’information susceptible de faire évoluer les connaissances scientifiques dans le domaine des sciences de la vie, notamment pour mieux comprendre les processus biologiques liés à la santé.

Le défi de la Division de biostatistique et méthodes quantitatives (dBMQ) a été, est et restera de maintenir un bon équilibre entre une approche « théorique/spécialiste » et une approche « pratique/généraliste » de la statistique.

La première est une nécessité pour demeurer crédible scientifiquement lorsqu’il s’agit de contribuer au développement de la science statistique.

La seconde permet d’avoir une utilité directe auprès des professionnels de l’IUMSP et du CHUV.

Cette double approche de la statistique s’avère fructueuse, la pratique étant fondée sur la théorie et la théorie étant motivée par la pratique. Une vision globale de la statistique permet ainsi plus de créativité lorsqu’il s’agit d’aborder ses spécialités.

Activités de recherche

La Division de biostatistique et méthodes quantitatives (dBMQ) participe régulièrement à des projets de recherche interdisciplinaire impliquant des aspects statistiques originaux, en particulier avec d’autres unités de l’IUMSP, du CHUV, de l’UNIL et de l'EPFL, ainsi qu’avec l’institut suisse de bioinformatique (SIB).

Elle soutient également la consultation statistique organisée par le Centre d'EPidemiologie Clinique (CEPIC).

La recherche en statistique de la dBMQ porte actuellement sur les thèmes suivants :

  • Statistique génétique (genetic statistics)
  • Développement d’indicateurs statistiques et courbes de référence (statistical indicators and reference curves)
  • Analyse de données longitudinales (longitudinal data analysis)
  • Statistique robuste (robust statistics)

Organisation académique de la dBMQ

Responsable : 
Dr Valentin Rousson, PhD, Prof. associé

Cadres académiques:
Dr Zoltan Kutalik PhD, Prof. assistant
DIsabella Locatelli PhD, MER

Voir l'équipe de la dBMQ 

 

 

 

 

Responsable: 
Secrétariat: 
Domaines d'activité: 
                         

IUMSP | www.iumsp.ch
Institut universitaire de médecine sociale et préventive
Route de la Corniche 10, 1010 Lausanne - Switzerland
+41 21 314 72 72 | iumsp@chuv.ch

Go to top