Health Services Unit (USS)

 

The issues

Health services include all services, personal or otherwise, relating to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease, or to promotion, maintenance/upkeep and restoration of health. Such services are the basis of healthcare systems.

·         What are the population’s healthcare services needs?

·         Are current services organised to meet these needs optimally?

·         Are the benefits accessible to all?

·         Do they meet expectations?

The Health Services Unit examines these types of issue.

Research work

The USS’s research work primarily focusses on the health of older persons and ways of adapting the healthcare system to suit the needs of ageing populations.  The scope covered includes medical and social care facilities designed for people with a chronic functional dependency.

The USS is home to the Lc65+ cohort, which studies age-related frailty and its prevention, and the Centre for Observation and Analysis of Ageing (COAV), the result of an active collaboration with the Geriatrics and Geriatric Rehabilitation department at CHUV.

Service work

Many projects are commissioned, particularly by federal or cantonal public bodies. The unit also maintains close links with international research partners, such as the European SHARE survey (Survey of health, ageing and retirement in Europe) and the 5-COOP project (5 countries oldest-old project) dedicated to centenarians.

Areas of activity: 

                         

IUMSP | www.iumsp.ch
Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine
Route de la Corniche 10, 1010 Lausanne - Switzerland
+41 21 314 72 72 | iumsp@chuv.ch

Go to top

Unité des services de santé (USS)

Les questionnements

Les services de santé comprennent tous les services, personnels ou non, en rapport avec la prévention, le diagnostic et le traitement de la maladie, ou la promotion, le maintien et la restauration de la santé. Leurs activités sont le fondement des systèmes de santé.

  • Quels sont les besoins de la population en matière de services de santé ?
  • Ceux-ci sont-ils organisés de façon à y répondre de manière optimale ?
  • Leurs prestations sont-elles accessibles à tous ?
  • Correspondent-elles aux attentes ?

C'est sur ce type de questionnements que travaille l'unité des services de santé.

Activités de recherche

Les activités de recherche et de service de l'USS sont principalement orientées sur la santé des personnes âgées et l'adaptation du système de santé aux besoins de populations vieillissantes.  Le champ couvert comprend les services médico-sociaux dédiés aux personnes présentant une dépendance fonctionnelle chronique.

L'USS abrite en particulier la Cohorte Lc65+ , consacrée à l'étude de la fragilisation liée à l'âge et à sa prévention, ainsi que le Centre d'observation et d'analyse du vieillissement (COAV), fruit d'une collaboration active avec le Service de gériatrie et de réadaptation gériatrique du CHUV.

Voir aussi le site de la Cohorte Lc65+ (www.lc65plus.ch

Activités de service

De nombreux travaux sont conduits sur mandat, notamment confiés par les pouvoirs publics au niveau fédéral ou cantonal. L'unité entretient également des liens de collaboration avec des partenaires de recherche internationaux, comme dans le cadre de l'enquête européenne SHARE (Survey of health, aging and retirement in Europe) ou du projet 5-COOP (5 countries oldest-old project) consacré aux centenaires.

Responsable : 
Dr Brigitte Santos-Eggimann, MD, DrPH, MPH, Prof. associée

Secrétariat:        
Mme Corinne Judlin-Curchod
                                                  

Domaines d'activité: 
                         

IUMSP | www.iumsp.ch
Institut universitaire de médecine sociale et préventive
Route de la Corniche 10, 1010 Lausanne - Switzerland
+41 21 314 72 72 | iumsp@chuv.ch

Go to top